2017 Highway Cafe Blog Tour–Meet Twinkle-Toes


Hi, everyone, Twinkle-Toes here, I’m so happy to be involved in this year’s blog hop because I love to dance and meet new people. I tie jingle bells to the curled toes of my slippers so I make music every time I walk. My favorite song that I sing often around the toy-making barn is “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” because I want everyone to get excited about the coming celebrations.

elf shoes

Another one of my favorite fun things to do is to decorate presents. A special shelf in Santa’s workshop holds last year’s Christmas cards. I grab down a few and find images to cut out, like a tree or a sleigh or a group of carolers or a star. If I’m careful, I can find two images from each card. By writing names on the back side, that cutout becomes a gift tag. I use a yard needle to poke a hole near the top and thread ribbon through or, if I don’t want to ruin the image, I tape the top to the wrapped package. Recycling makes me feel warm inside.

xmas scene

As a special thanks to you for visiting my blog, I’m giving away two ebook copies of A Year of Romance, an anthology of historical romance stories set around Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and Fourth of July. These stories comprise the first four titles in my Dorado, Texas series. Leave a comment to be eligible to win. If you have a favorite recycling tip, please share because I giggle when I find new ways to reuse.


Wandering Home

Will a justice-seeking wanderer find solace on a ranch with a stubborn widow determined to protect what is hers?

Storybook Hero

Can a starry-eyed dreamer’s search for adventure overcome a taciturn man’s belief he has nothing to offer?

My Heart Knew

Will falling in love with a strong-willed cowboy be the adventure a tomboy maid has been seeking?

Sparked By Fire

Can a wounded soul find solace in the attentions from a cook who nurtures through her culinary creations?




I’ll pick the name of the winners and post an announcement here on December 11th.

2017  Garden Gourmet

Because this season is the time for giving, I want to tell you about a free book created by authors of one of my publishers. The 2017 The Wild Rose Press Garden Gourmet-A Holiday of Hacks includes helpful time-saving tips related to cooking and chores around the house. Get your copy here.


As a special stocking stuffer, here’s the link to a free story. Gingerbread Wishes is a contemporary romance set at Christmas and is the first title is my Sugar and Spice Bakery series.

You’ll want to meet my elf friends so be sure to hop on over to the other blog posts.

December 4

Holland Rae – https://hollandrae.com/

Susanne Matthews – https://mhsusannematthews.wordpress.com/

Sorchia DuBois – www.sorchiadubois.com

December 5

Tena Stetler – http://www.tenastetler.com/category/my-say-what-blog/

Maureen Bonatch – http://www.maureenbonatch.com/blog/

Peggy Jaeger – https://peggyjaeger.com/

Barbara Burke – https://barbaraburkeauthor.wordpress.com/


December 6

Kelly Kalmanson – http://kkweil.blogspot.com

M.S. Spencer – http://msspencertalespinner.blogspot.com

Hywela Lyn – www.hywelalyn.blogspot.com

Reggi Allder – https://reggiallder.blogspot.com/

December 7

Denyse Bridger – http://www.fantasypages.ca

Karen Blake-Hall – https://kaydenclaremont.wordpress.com/ 

Clair de Lune – https://clairdelunebooks.co.uk/

Casi McLean – http://casimclean.com/a-christmas-to-remember/

December 8

Darlene Fredette – http://findingthewritewords.blogspot.com

Daryl Devore – http://daryldevore.blogspot.ca

Gini Rifkin – http://ginirifkin.blogspot.com

OR see what’s happening at the Highway Cafe


5 thoughts on “2017 Highway Cafe Blog Tour–Meet Twinkle-Toes”

  1. Recycling is my passion, too. My favorite tip for gift giving is to make cloth bags from holiday fabric to put gifts in. They can be reused every year. The happiest of Holidays to you and yours!

  2. With all those Christmas cards people receive, and so many beautiful pictures on them, what a great way to recycle and gain a box of Christmas tags. Happy Holidays!

  3. I used to wrap presents carefully (when the kids were little I’d use one wrapping paper only for Santa’s gifts–I thought it terribly clever but I don’t think they ever noticed). But the gift tag from cards is a really swell idea–love it! Do you have a way to share this post? M. S.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>